Minimum Wage and your Employer
The state of Florida thrives on tourism, tourism, and more tourism. The sunshine state employs over two million waiters and waitress, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics for 2014, yet many people believe that waiters and waitresses are still barely being compensated for their hard work and contributions to the tourism industry.
As of January 1, 2015, the minimum wage in the state of Florida was raised from $7.93 to $8.05. But for tipped employees, they are still scraping the bottom of the barrel with their own 12 cent increase from $4.91 per hour to $5.03. If employers do not comply with the minimum wage requirement, they can be subjected to fines.
State statutes explain that employers cannot legally retaliate against an employee for exercising their rights to receive full compensation. Employers who violate these laws are subject to $1,000 fine per violation of wage compensation. There is a very fine line and it gets even more critical with the changes that occurred this year.
If an employee filed a complaint about noncompliance with the minimum wage requirements or informed anyone about the noncompliance or their rights, the employer has 15 days after the notification to resolve any claims for unpaid wages or they can be brought to court. The employer will need to recover back the missed wages, plus damages and attorney’s fees.
Along with the proper notification of the updated minimum wage, employers are also required to display posters containing information regarding unemployment insurance, workers compensation, child labor laws, and discrimination. There are often size requirements on a number of these posters. Failure to display these posters can result in fines for up to $17,000. The consequences that result from being misguided by your employers are pricey and should be taken seriously.
If you think your rights are being violated, call Carrillo & Carrillo and we will handle it.